468 Bank Street

June 9, 2009

In researching some of the painted wall advertisements, here in Ottawa, I came across one I hadn’t seen before.

It was apparently revealed when the flagship Tommy and Lefevbre burned down, earlier this year. It was fragmented from earlier demolitions, it seems, and so only parts of the original painting was visible. What was visible was very well preserved.

Today, I headed down to the spot to take my own photos of the wall. It was gone.

MikeyG. who posts his amazing photos on Flickr had taken possibly the only photos of the piece which is now lost to history.

He very graciously sent me a copy so I could post it, here.

468 Bank, Spring 2009

468 Bank, Spring 2009

Unfortunately, I have so far been unable to find the names of the businesses advertised. The horizontal one appears to be for auction rooms. There were a number in Ottawa, though I couldn’t find any mention of one on Bank Street.

The “auto accessories”, likewise, I was unable to come up with a corresponding business. If I am not mistaken, there is a building around the corner on Flora or Arlington which was a fairly big auto repair business dating back to the 1920s. I wonder if they are related?

I looked through the city directories between 1901 and 1923, available online, and while the 1923 directory is the first to list the address, it is noted as “vacant”. I may have to go to the library and see if they have the directories for the next few years.

My thanks to MikeyG. for allowing me to include his photo.

14 Responses to “468 Bank Street”

  1. Bart said

    There was also a business called ‘Jack Samuel’s Garage’ on this site in the 50’s. They may be related to it.

  2. Peter Campbell said

    I came across this site out of curiosity and am rather pleased to see some people remember W&J. I worked for the company for about 7 years. First in the Brockville branch and then Ottawa. My father worked for the company just shy of 50 years. One of the things people don’t remember is that W&J started out as a furnace sales and service company. It wasn’t until the late 20’s they became almost exclusively automotive. Up until my teens it was still possible to order Kelvinator oven parts from them. At it’s peak it amounted to 7 seven stores across Eastern Ontario. The Ottawa store was fascinating in that it had numerous sub-basements as it absorbed various buildings around it. Shame to see it gone, but, what can you do?

  3. ndamiano said

    Some where in my many boxes of photos I have one of the store front sign for 468 Bank – Air Cooled Engine Parts. My father was one of the partners until 1993. At that point they had already moved to Industrial Avenue. I believe Art Tommy worked for Welch & Johnston before he opened his sports store in same building. What an interesting.concept, advertisements on old buildings.

  4. Joe said

    Welch & Johnson originally was on Bank St. when it first opened up in the middle of Flora and McLeod Streets and moved to Flora Street in the 1970’s and then a company that dealt with air cooled engine parts moved into that location until sometime in the early 1980’s when they moved to Industrial Avenue and Tommy & Lefevbre expanded their store and took over that location as well and then Welch & Johnson moved around to the other side of the buidling on McLeod Street from the Flora location in mid 1980’s until they finally closed their doors in the 1990’s and the building was sold off and condo’s were built on the site.

    How do I know all of this information……my father worked at Welch & Johnson from 1945 to 1990.

  5. dallas said

    the Lee tires is a brand
    an old brand ( my brother has an collectable) LEE tires on his rec room wall
    so assuming it probably was a auto assessor store
    with the extra space rented out space to businessmen for their meetings.
    I’ll ask my Mom
    she spent a lot of time in that area as a teen

  6. dallas said

    I would bet it was more likely function rooms

  7. Hello from Ottawa, Gerry. That’s an interesting tip. Including that on my comments with the original photo on Flickr here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikeygottawa/3504614439/
    Appreciate that info. Many Thanks & Best Wishes. Peace.

  8. Gerry said

    Welch & Johnson had a garage on Flora Street. The auto ads might be related to that business.

  9. You are doing some mighty fine work, yourself! Sometimes I think that I need a researcher for my Ottawa street photos. When I’m rich & famous . . . I’ll be callin’ on your talents, I think! Nice job here, A. I am so pleased to be included here. Many Thanks and Best Wishes to You & Yours. Keep up your great work, eh! Peace.

Leave a Reply

